Program Level: Degrees, Pre-Majors/Transfer
Department: Mathematics, Engineering & CIS
Institute: Science & Technology
College: SAC

Math Club:  Starting Spring 2023, the Math Club meets every Wednesday at 5:45pm in McCreless Hall, room 103. For additional information on the Math Club, email Ms. Wackwitz at

Tutoring:  The Math Success Center (located in McCreless Hall, room 121) offers walk-in and remote tutoring. Visit their website here for additional information.

What is the program?

The Department of Mathematics services students in many disciplines. The department offers courses for students seeking careers in science, mathematics, engineering, and technology, in addition to basic courses that satisfy Core Curriculum requirements.

What will I learn?

Mathematics courses emphasize organization, critical thinking, and the application of models to real-world problems. Students will learn how to think about problems and a variety of problem-solving techniques.

What can I do with this course of study?

College-level mathematics classes prepare students for upper-division courses in science, mathematics, engineering, and technology. 

What's special about the program?

The Mathematics Department has a reputation for producing students who are successful in programs at four-year colleges.

What resources are available to students?

The Math Success Center is located in room 121 of McCreless Hall and offers walk-in tutoring for college and developmental level mathematics. It is open Monday - Thursday from 9am - 7:30pm, Friday 9am - 4pm, and Saturday 9am - 4pm. Students may also check out calculators for free by showing their student ID.


"Some things will drop out of the public eye and will go away, but there will always be science, engineering, and technology. And there will always, always be mathematics."

- Katherine Johnson

Degrees and Certificates

Full-Time Faculty

Albert Aviles Esmarie Kennedy Ricardo Piña, Jr. 
Gerald F. Busald Anahita S. Lorestani Shiva Rai
David Chavera Ruby Martinez Meagan Shadfan
Carlos Corona Paula McKenna Roland Trevino
Samuel E. Hairston Dhammika N. Nanayakkara Maynell Wackwitz, Dual Credit Liaison
Walker Hunt Fermin D. Ortiz  


Part-Time Faculty

Reza Aghaya Liping Chu Steven Ochoa
Chaitanya Agrawal Emilio Cruz Farrah O'Neill
Klaus Bartels Gerald Green Gary Pena
Elvira Basco David Hazlett Nancy Roell
Cathy Beicker Parvin Kabirpour Kazumi Niki Stovall
Carl A. Biehl Lily Kidd Mohammad Reza Youssefinia
Maria Brucks Dr. Stephen McClure Conrad Krueger
Rong-Tsung Chen Amos Obiefunam  


Contact Us



Location:  McCreless Hall, 2nd Floor, room 221
Department Phone:  (210) 486-0270


Henry Griffith
Department Chair
(210) 486-1305
Meagan Shadfan
Program Coordinator
(210) 486-0245
Patricia Gonzalez
Administrative Services Specialist
(210) 486-0276
Bly Korseau
Administrative Associate
(210) 486-1301

Last Updated:  4/6/2023