Honor Societies


The National Society of Leadership and Success

About the NSLS at San Antonio College

The National Society of Leadership and Success (NSLS) is the nation’s largest leadership honor society. Students are selected by San Antonio College for membership based on academic standing. In addition to honorable distinction, NSLS provides a step-by-step program for members to build their leadership skills. Upon completion of the program, members receive their leadership certificate and take their place among the top student leaders at their campus and across the country. Members are able to list their affiliations on all statements of personal accomplishment, including their resume.

The Society encourages community action, volunteerism, personal growth and strong leadership from its chapters and members around the world. 

San Antonio College Chapter History 

The San Antonio College chapter was founded in the summer of 2014. Since then, more then 1400 SAC students have been inducted. 

GPA Requirements – 3.0 or greater.

San Antonio College Chapter Executive Board

Gabriela Galarza-Jenerette President
Isabell Garcia Secretary
Isabell Garcia  Treasurer
Ellen "Nellie" Bourne SNT Coordinator
Alayna Marhofer Events Chair
Jonathan Stachowiak Service Chair
Alexander Hrncir Publicity Chair

Chapter Advisors 

Domingo J. Figueroa – dfigueroa22@alamo.edu; Invitations, Chapter Logistics and Orientation

Greg Smith – gsmith160@alamo.edu; Leadership Development, Success Networking Teams, Chapter Executive Board


Phi Theta Kappa

About the Phi Theta Kappa at San Antonio College

Phi Theta Kappa, founded November 19, 1918, is the international honor society of two-year colleges and academic programs, particularly state colleges and community colleges. It also includes Associate's degree-granting programs offered by four-year colleges. It is headquartered in Jackson, Mississippi and has more than 2 million members in more than 1,250 chapters, in each state of the United States, U.S. Territories, British Virgin Islands, Marshall Islands, Canada, Germany, Federated States of Micronesia, United Arab Emirates, Republic of Palau, and Peru. Phi Theta Kappa's mission statement:

The purpose of Phi Theta Kappa shall be to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students. To achieve this purpose, Phi Theta Kappa shall provide opportunity for the development of leadership and service, for an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals, for lively fellowship for scholars, and for stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.

San Antonio College Chapter History

In 1929, the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society was officially recognized by the American Association of Junior Colleges and became the official Honor Society for 2-year institutions.

The Beta Nu Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society at San Antonio College was one of the early members of the Honor Society becoming a charter member on May 17, 1932.    The Beta Nu Chapter is a Five Star Chapter in the District V, Texas Regional - Division II.     

The Beta Nu Chapter inductees join a network of fellow scholars of over 3 million members who have access to over $90 million dollars in scholarships.   For more than 100 years, the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society has helped millions of high-achieving colleges students develop leadership, scholarship, fellowship and service. 

National statistics illustrate that over 90% of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society members complete a degree and/or successfully transfer to the university of their choice.

Membership Requirements

GPA Requirements- 3.5 or higher

Beta Nu Chapter Executive Board

Ellen (Nellie) Bourne President
Mercedes Rodriguez-Cantu Vice President of Service
Robert Gasperson  Vice President of Leadership
Braiden Touchette Vice President of Scholarship
Sienna Benjamin Vice President of Fellowship
Arianna Acosta Secretary
Linda Rodriguez Public Relations
Victoria Veloz Marketing and Graphic Design

Chapter Advisors 

Dr. Jim Lucchelli - glucchellijr@alamo.edu; Membership Invitations, Primary Advisor

Jacob-Aidan Martinez - jmartinez932@alamo.edu; Treasurer, Travel Coordination, Membership Transfers 

Jeanette Bunch - jniznik@alamo.edu