Staff

Director

gerlado-guerra-asc-director-web.jpg

Geraldo Guerra, M.A.
MLC 707H
(210) 486 - 0164
gguerra@alamo.edu

Guerra is the first director of the newly created Academic Success Centers, which are responsible for the management of all SAC tutoring labs. The ASC consists of tutoring centers across campus, as well as a number of student programs, including SACMEN, a leadership and mentorship group for male students of color.

As the head of the Academic Success Centers, Guerra’s responsibilities include:

  • Support and management of all tutoring centers throughout the SAC campus.
  • Hiring, training, and certification of SAC tutors.
  • Management of student progress in tutoring.
  • Providing equitable academic support for all students in need of tutoring services at SAC, including those needing additional resources and support.

Before being promoted to director of ASC, Guerra was the coordinator for the Student Learning Assistance Center (SLAC), SAC’s largest tutoring center.

Guerra received an associate degree in management from San Antonio College. He earned a bachelor’s degree in human relations at Texas A&M University-San Antonio, and a master’s degree in higher education and leadership from Adams State University in Alamosa, Colorado.

 

Administrative Services Specialist

blankphoto.png

Bertha Ovalle, B.S.
MLC 707L
(210) 486 - 0167
bovalle3@alamo.edu

 

Center Leads

blankphoto.png

Yon Hui Bell
INRW Center
GH 118
(210) 486 - 0697
ybell@alamo.edu

 

blankphoto.png

Caroline Davis
Writing Center
MLC 200
(210) 486 - 1433
crichardson36@alamo.edu

 

blankphoto.png

Crystal Escobales
MESA Center
MLC 200
(210) 486-0085
cescobales@alamo.edu

 

profile pic.png

Gerald F Manahan Jr. , M.S.I.T.
Student Learning Assistance Center
MLC 707
(210) 486 - 0169
gmanahan@alamo.edu

I started working at San Antonio College in June 1991 and have never left. During the first 11 years, I worked as a part-time tutor helping students in areas such as mathematics, accounting, physics, chemistry, and engineering (pretty much anything math related). Since 2002, I have worked full-time in the S.L.A.C. performing duties such as webmaster, programmer, database administrator, Navigate administrator, tech support, tutor supervisor, and trainer.

blankphoto.png

Steve Ochoa
Math Success Center
MCCH 121/124
(210) 486 - 0240
sochoa@alamo.edu

 

blankphoto.png

Shelly Sheppard
Natural Science Spots - BioSpot
CAC 350
(210) 486 - 0860
ssheppard11@alamo.edu

 

blankphoto.png

David Wood
Natural Science Spots - ChemSpot & GeoSpot
CG 200 & CG 003
(210) 486 - 0063
dwood30@alamo.edu

 

 

 

Last Updated: February 4, 2022