SAC Professor Earns AACC's Distinguished Faculty Recognition

February 19, 2018


Earlier this month, SAC’s program coordinator of the Social Work program, Lisa Black, was selected to receive the inaugural Dale P. Parnell Distinguished Faculty recognition by the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC). 

The honor will be officially awarded during the AACC Convention taking place in Dallas, Texas in late April/ early May. In addition to receiving a commemorative medal, Professor Black will also be invited to attend a private reception with author Jeanette Walls during the conference.  

“Professor Black is a true model of integrity, grit, and determination,” said Dr. Robert Vela, SAC President. “In addition to her most recent accomplishment of opening the Student Advocacy Center, Professor Black has served on numerous committees throughout the years and has a proven track record for innovation and servant leadership.” 

In 2015-2016, Professor Black was selected as a faculty innovator by the Alamo Colleges Foundation and was awarded a grant to create a simulation lab and simulation theater in the Social Work program. As well, last academic year, Professor Black served as Faculty Senate President and was selected as the inaugural Executive Faculty Council District-Wide Faculty Fellow. This academic year, she successfully introduced the newly adopted SOCW Associate of Applied Science degree. 

According to the AACC website, the recognition was named in honor of former AACC President and CEO Dale P. Parnell, and was established to recognize individuals making a difference in the classroom. Nominees for demonstrate passion for the students and the classroom; show willingness to support students; participate in college committees; and go above and beyond what is required to ensure that students are successful in their academic endeavors.


Photo Caption: Dr. Vela, SAC President, and Lisa Black, Social Work department, officially cut the ribbon at the Grand Opening ceremony for the Student Advocacy Center in Spring 2017. Photo By: Leonard Ziegler