San Antonio College Re-designated as Cybersecurity Regional Hub for the Southwest United States

January 15, 2021

Office of Marketing & Strategic Communications

San Antonio College has been re-designated by the National Security Agency (NSA) as the Southwest Center of Academic Excellence in Cybersecurity (CAE-C) Regional Hub.

SAC previously served as the South Central Regional Hub since 2017, providing leadership in cybersecurity education among colleges and universities in five states. SAC’s role now expands to lead cybersecurity education efforts in a broader region that includes nine states—Texas, Louisiana, Arkansas, Oklahoma, New Mexico, Arizona, Nevada, California and Hawaii. 

“We are proud of our leadership in this growing field and we’re honored to take on a larger role,” said SAC President Dr. Robert Vela.  “Cybersecurity education is vital to the future of our country and the world. We’re excited to contribute to the educational opportunities of this rapidly growing and evolving industry.”

The National Security Agency reduced the number of regions from nine to five as part of a reorganization and tasked the hubs with advancing cybersecurity at the national level by facilitating collaborations and hosting training, faculty development workshops and cyber competitions that support the CAE-C Program.

SAC will partner with one other CAE-C designated institution to serve as the Southwest Regional Hub: University of Texas San Antonio (UTSA). The Southwest CAE-C Regional Hub will be joined with partners from six of the states from the region to build a vibrant and collaborative cybersecurity community across the Southwest.

Kim Muschalek of the San Antonio College CIS/CS department will serve as the Principal Investigator (PI) with Dr. Glenn Dietrich of UTSA serving as CO-PI.