SAC Installs New SGA Officers

July 20, 2021

Office of Marketing & Strategic Communications

The students who will serve as officers for the Student Government Association (SGA) were sworn into their positions during a brief ceremony held at the Scobee Education Center. The group will lead the SGA during the 2021-22 academic year.

SGA Officers 2021.jpg"It's an honor to welcome these outstanding students as they begin their important roles as campus leaders," said San Antonio College President Dr. Robert Vela. "We thank them for advocating for excellence and student success in all we do at SAC. Their courage and tenacity illuminate what we can achieve working together." 

He also praised the new officers for getting involved with student government at the same time other colleges are having trouble recruiting students to get run for office.

“Stepping up when times are difficult – that’s true leadership,” said Vela.

After taking the oath of office, the students spoke on what they want to accomplish during the school year.

“I hope over the next year we can help serve students in any way that they need,” said Reiley Hansen, a pre-nursing major who is the new SGA president.

“I hope to see the SGA work together and ensure that the student body has a good transition back to campus after our few semesters off because of the pandemic. It won't be easy, but I really do hope to have our SGA team working with the students to ensure they feel safe and represented,” said Aja Leija, a business management major, who will serve as parliamentarian and as the student trustee at the Alamo Colleges District.

“I hope that over the next year SGA will address any questions or concerns for every student who attends our campus. I want our fellow students to know that this is a safe space for anyone who wants to let their voice be heard," added Jonathan Arredondo, a social work major who will be the SGA treasurer.  

The SGA Officers are:
  • President - Reiley Hansen
  • Vice President - Linda Najera
  • Treasurer - Jonathan Arredondo
  • Secretary - Nellie (Ellen) Bourne
  • Historian - Victoria Veliz
  • Parliamentarian/Student Trustee -  Aja Leija


Photo caption: SGA officers are, from left to right, Linda Najera, Ellen (Nellie) Bourne, Reily Hansen, Jonathan Arredondo, and Victoria Veloz. Not pictured is Aja Leija.