SPC Promoting Pathways for Teachers of Health Science at Secondary Schools

October 1, 2018

Public Information Officer


College engages in a meeting to include health science in recently passed State bill that creates an abbreviated certification pathway for certain professionals to gain their Texas teaching license

The opinions of health science students and faculty were heard during a meeting yesterday evening to discuss postsecondary education teaching opportunities following the passage of a State bill that creates an abbreviated certification pathway for highly skilled individuals in certain professions to gain their Texas teaching license.

Students and faculty at the college were among the education group representatives, school administrators and faculty, industry professionals, and a member of the State Board of Education convening Sept. 25 at the Region 20 Center at the invitation of The Honorable Barbara Gervin-Hawkins, State Representative, regarding her HB 3349 which is currently undergoing implementation by the Texas Education Agency.

The bill passed with overwhelming support in the House (141-1) and Senate (31-0) of Texas creates the pathway for the highly qualified to teach in Texas schools in their respective fields. The bill's current proposed form of implementation was recently rejected by the State Board of Education because of the inclusion of health science and marketing professionals as eligible candidates, according to a letter of invitation to the college from the Gervin-Hawkins team. Members of the health science community at St. Philip's College were invited to meet-and-discuss the importance of including their diverse field in the implementation of her legislation. 

Event guest Jessica Cooper is the college's dean for academic success.

"Input from St. Philip's College was of value in adding the college perspective to the conversation," said Cooper. "I was most proud of our college’s engagement in this well-attended event, from administration and faculty to our health sciences students," Cooper said.

College respiratory care technology students Lucero Sanchez, Daniel Chavez-Tate, Abram Espinoza, Lacee Ramirez, Mary Jo Sanchez, Azriel Cantero and Leslie Lopez attended the program. Also representing the college during the event with the students and Cooper were Raquel Farias, respiratory care technology department chair, Christa Mitchell, respiratory care technology program director, and diagnostic medical sonography program faculty member Yvette Senovsky. (Image of SPC guests with Rep Gervin-Hawkins is a courtesy image)