Faculty Member Receives Lifetime Achievement Award

February 10, 2020

Alexa Saavedra, Strategic Communications Coordinator

St. Philip’s College Communications & Learning Department Chair, Dr. Diane Gavin, received the Marquis Who’s Who Lifetime Achievement Award, one of the highest distinctions available through Marquis Who’s Who. The award recognizes individuals that have achieved greatness in their industry.

Dr. Gavin has more than 30 years' experience in higher education and publishes in the areas of higher education, writing studies/writing assessment, popular culture, media literacy, institutional ethnography, political communication/journalism and postmodern American literature.

She has published an impressive five books, 15 book chapters and 22 scholarly articles as well as presented at more than 20 major conferences in English composition, social-behavioral research, American literature, media literacy/journalism and research administration.

She serves as an active member of the Society of Research Administrators International, Public Responsibility in Medicine & Research and the National Council of Teachers of English.

Dr. Gavin works with and has trained junior scholars and research administrators both in the US and internationally in multiple areas of social-behavioral research.

Her accolades include, Who's Who in the East, Who's Who in American Women, Who's Who in American Women in the Millennium, Who's Who in Collegiate Faculty, Who's Who in American Education and Who's Who in America.

To learn more about Marquis Who's Who, visit their website at www.marquiswhoswho.com.

Connect with SPC online on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Instagram and LinkedIn.