SPC Selects NISOD Excellence Award Recipients

June 8, 2020

Alexa Saavedra, Strategic Communications Coordinator

St. Philip’s College is proud to announce the nine recipients for the NISOD Excellence Awards. As members of the National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development (NISOD), SPC nominates employees annually who have demonstrated an outstanding commitment and contribution to their students and colleagues. The recipients demonstrate the importance of teaching and leadership excellence in higher education.

“Our NISOD award recipients represent the best that St. Philip’s College has to offer, these individuals are dynamic, caring, responsive, talented, resilient, dedicated, and committed to ensuring that all students can achieve their career goals. Their passion is evident on a daily basis as they continuously inspire and motivate students and employees,” said SPC President, Dr. Adena Williams Loston.

NISOD serves to promote and celebrate excellence in teaching, learning, and leadership at community and technical colleges. In 1989, NISOD hosted its first ceremony honoring NISOD Excellence Award recipients. The response to that ceremony was so positive that NISOD began what has become the largest gathering that recognizes the contributions and achievements of community and technical college faculty, administrators, and staff.

“Recognizing those individuals who have contributed to student success and their colleges’ mission is something we look forward to doing each year,” said Dr. Edward J. Leach, NISOD’s Executive Director. “The extraordinary work of these men and women includes not only what they do for their students and colleagues, but what they do for the communities in which they live and work.”

SPC’s 2020 Excellence Award Recipients


Christina Cortez, Dean for Student Success 



Elizabeth Castillo, Director for Student Success



Edinir de Oliveira, Administrative Assistant for the Vice President for College Services

010820 Bibiana Yanes Portrait Photo JJR.jpg

Bibiana Yanes, Child Development Center Early Childhood Teacher


Jack Nawrocik, Associate Professor for the department of History and Humanities


Portrait Gregory Gonzales.jpg

Gregory Gonzales, Music Associate Professor


David Uminski, Assistant Professor


Portrait Frank Salinas.jpg

Juan Francisco Salinas, Culinary Arts Associate Professor


Lauri Humberson.jpg

Laurilyn Humberson, Associate Professor for English & Integrated Reading and Writing


Connect with SPC online on FacebookTwitterYouTubeInstagram and LinkedIn.