Phi Theta Kappa

What is Phi Theta Kappa?

Phi Theta Kappa, founded in 1918, is recognized as the official honor society by the American Association of Community Colleges. Among the Society's distinguished alumni are the late Ambassador Jeane Kirkpatrick, astronaut Fred Haise, and journalist Jim Lehrer. The purpose of Phi Theta Kappa shall be to recognize and encourage scholarship among students. To achieve this purpose, Phi Theta Kappa shall provide an opportunity for the development of leadership and service, for an intellectual climate for the exchange of ideas and ideals, for lively fellowship for scholars, and stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.

We are the PSI KAPPA CHAPTER of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society at St. Philip's College. We welcome you to our Chapter and encourage you to take advantage of all the opportunities, we salute our members for your accomplishments, and charge them to explore for truth and to dedicate themselves to the cultivation of the well-reasoned life, a prelude to service and honor!

How do I become a member?

Membership in Phi Theta Kappa is a permanent recognition of your hard work and academic achievement. That is why membership in Phi Theta Kappa is a special honor. Your membership will be recognized by colleges, universities, and potential employers. Benefits include an exclusive professional development plan, leadership opportunities, 24/7 Transfer help, more than $37 million in scholarships from over 700 colleges and universities, and much more.

Phi Theta Kappa provides unique opportunities for:

  • Leadership
  • Service to others
  • Scholarships
  • Fun and fellowship!

What are the qualifications?

Membership is based on superior academic achievement and is conferred only by invitation of the Psi Kappa Chapter of St. Philip's College. You must have completed at least twelve college hours with a minimum cumulative 3.5 grade point average.


The Chapter is very involved not only within the chapter but the college and community. Below are a few agencies that the members of the chapter have given back.

  • Habitat for Humanity
  • Wounded Warriors
  • Davidson Respite House
  • Fisher House
  • Martin Luther King March
  • Animal Defense League
  • MDA Walk
  • Juvenile Diabetes Walk
  • Relay for Life
  • Susan G Komen 
  • Meals on Wheels
  • CAMinistries 
  • WNBA 
  • Fishing Under the Bridge
  • AngelFood Ministries
  • SAMMinistries 
  • Botanical Garden
  • MLK Park Clean-up
  • Phi Theta Kappa unveiled a new strategic plan, which outlines priorities for the next five years. The plan includes the following five commitments:

    Commitment 1:  Strengthen Pathways to Completion, Transfer, and Employment
    Commitment 2:  Increase Transparency, Awareness and Support with New Communications
    Commitment 3:  Strengthen Chapters and Regions with a Primary Focus on the Society Mission
    Commitment 4:  Increase Access to Membership by Closing Equity and Inclusion Gaps
    Commitment 5:  Leverage Society Network by Supporting Alumni Engagement

    We the Psi Kappa Chapter are committed to the plan and will do our part as a 5 Star Chapter. Our first challenge is to connect with our 2,503 PTK alum this summer and through the fall semester.

    View our Plan here

  • The Psi Kappa Chapter is promoting awareness of the Quality Enhancement Plan (QEP) - Ethical Decision Making (EDM) process through student focus groups. Our focus is peer-to-peer education on connecting values and choices to actions and consequences. Our goal is to engage students in meaningful conversation to enhance their ethical decision-making skills through the process. If you would like a classroom presentation or would like to get involved please contact the Chapter at (210) 486-2199,

  • With over $90 million in scholarships for eligible members, Phi Theta Kappa helps you finish the dreams you started. Visit for more information.


The Psi Kappa is honored to have great scholars in our chapter. We congratulate them and the successes of the chapter.

Individual Awards for 2020

  • Martin Hernandez – International Most Distinguished Chapter Member
  • Alexandra Williams - All Texas Academic Team
  • Morgan Hutcheson - All Texas Academic Team
  • Malia Mikol – All Texas Academic Team
  • Cole Gavlick – All Texas Academic Team
  • Homero Avila – Walgreens Pharmacy Technician Scholarship
  • George Frederick – Tejas Award
  • Martin Hernandez – Texas Most Distinguished Chapter Member
  • Catherine Cantu – Texas Hall of Honor
  • Keana Bowdry – Texas Hall of Honor
  • Connie Pullen – Texas Hall of Honor
  • Lacey Crisler – Texas Hall of Honor
  • Genevieve Lopez – Texas Hall of Honor
  • Crystal Campbell – Texas Hall of Honor
  • Martin Hernandez – Texas Hall of Honor

Chapter Awards for 2020

  • 5 STAR CHAPTER - 11 years consecutively 
  • REACH Award
  • Texas Top 20 Chapter
  • Community Service Award
  • College Project Award of Merit
  • International Top 100 Chapter
  • Distinguished Honors in Action Project


Eric Meyer - Chapter President
Christopher Valdovinos - Chapter Vice President
Rita Flores - VP of Scholarship
Joe Harris - VP of Fellowship
Rebecca Beal - Secretary of Business and Finance
Emily Marin - IT/ Social Media Officer

Contact Information

Tyrell Williams
PTK Advisor
MLK Clarence Windzell Norris Building (CWN), 412A
Roy Ruiz
PTK Advisor
SWC Industrial Technology Center (ITC), Building 1
Karen Baker
PTK Advisor
MLK Welcome Center #104