History

Program Level: Degrees, Pre-Majors/Transfer
Department: Mexican American Studies, Early Childhood Studies, Sociology, Social Work & History (MESSH)
Institute: Creative & Communication Arts
College: SAC

What is the History course of study?

A bachelors degree in history provides students with a body of historical knowledge that enables them to understand local, national, and global events as well as to appreciate the range of cultural diversity that makes up the world community.

What will I learn?

  • Construct historical arguments using primary and secondary sources.
  • Describe historical narratives of multiple choices and regions across space and time.
  • Analyze these historical narratives from diverse perspectives.
  • Explain how spatial processes have shaped these historical narratives of people and regions.

 

What can I do with this course of study?

The bachelors degree plan assists those who seek a career in social studies education. Additional career paths include higher education, research, publishing, information management, business, public service, law, and other positions requiring effective writing, interdisciplinary thinking, critical skill analysis skills, curiosity, and inquisitiveness.

 

What's special about our program?

The history course of study is special because of our students and our faculty. Students entering the history course of study are mentored by history faculties interested in having students achieve success. The course of study seeks students with inquiring minds. The course of study seeks students from diverse backgrounds, with diverse interests, ready to accept today's challenges. Faculty are devoted to encouraging student academic excellence, to developing students' critical thinking, reading, and writing skills, and to the college mission to produce informed and responsible citizens. 

history faculties interested in having students achieve success...

Contact Us

Dr. Sean Duffy
Program Co-Coordinator
sduffy4@alamo.edu
location:
Chance Academic Center 316
phone:
210-486-1712
Dr. Lisa Ramos
Program Co-Coordinator
lramos@alamo.edu
location: 
Chance Academic Center 100
phone:
210-486-0761
Julie Engel
Interim MESSH Chairperson
jengel2@alamo.edu
location: 
Chance Academic Center 303c
phone:
210-486-1695

Follow us on Twitter:

 Follow @HIstorySAC

 
Want to be added to our once-a-week Remind about SAC-related History events? e-mail to sduffy4@alamo.edu  
Full-Time Faculty

Erik Anderson Ph.D.
Associate Professor of History
eanderson44@alamo.edu
210-486-1104
CAC 310

Marianne Bueno, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of History
mbueno41@alamo.edu
210-486-1341
CAC 314

Thomas F. Clarkin, Ph.D.
Professor of History
tclarkin@alamo.edu
210-486-1714
CAC 303E

Sean Duffy, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of History
sduffy4@alamo.edu
210-486-1712
CAC 316

 

Suraya Khan, Ph.D.
Instructor of History
skhan29@alamo.edu
(210) 486-1695
CAC 312 

Jonathan A. Lee, Ph.D.
Professor of History/MESSH Chair
jlee@alamo.edu
210-486-1097
CAC 303C

Lisa Ramos, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of History
lramos175@alamo.edu
210-486-60761
CAC 100

Amelia Serafine, Ph.D.
Instructor of History
aserafine2@alamo.edu
210-486-1711                           
CAC 312 

Seabrook Jones, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of History
sjones290@alamo.edu          
210-486-1716                           
CAC 303J

 

Adjunct Faculty

Mark Benz, M.A.
mbenz3@alamo.edu
CAC 303A 

Karen Brady, M.A.
kkincaid4@alamo.edu
CAC 303A 

Richard Buitron, Ph.D
rbuitron3@alamo.edu 
CAC 303F

Melanie Call, M.A.
mcall@alamo.edu
CAC 303 

John Carranza, M.A.
jcarranza15@alamo.edu
CAC 303

Joshua S. Copeland, M.A.
jcopeland18@alamo.edu
CAC 307

Albert Coss, M.A.
acoss@alamo.edu
CAC 307 

Scott Cowin, M.A.
scowin2@alamo.edu
CAC 307 

Andria Crosson, M.A.
acrosson@alamo.edu
CAC 303 

Paul Davis, Ph.D
pdavis@alamo.edu
CAC 303J 

Lindsey Dillon, M.A.
ldillon8@alamo.edu
CAC 303 A 

Brian Dwyer, M.A.
wdwyer1@alamo.edu
CAC 303A 

 

Mary Ferrer, M.A.

mferrer10@alamo.edu
CAC 307 

John Gehring, M.A.
jgehring@alamo.edu 
CAC 303A 

Jon Hazlett, M.A.
jhzlett3@alamo.edu
CAC 307 

John Johnston, M.A.
jjohnston39@alamo.edu
CAC 303J

Derek Kutzer, M.A.
dkutzer@alamo.edu
CAC 303J 

Deirdre Lannon, M.A.
dlannon@alamo.edu
CAC 303H 

W.B. MacAulay, M.A. 
wmacaulay@alamo.edu
CAC 307 

Louis A. Magnon, M.A.T., M.E.D. 
jmagnon@alamo.edu
CTTC  

Kim Manning, M.A.
kmanning15@alamo.edu
CAC 303A 

Frank Martinez, M.A.
fmartinez143@alamo.edu
CAC 303H 

Ted Villalon, M.A.
tvillalon@alamo.edu 
CAC 303F

 Jennifer McIntyre, M.A.

jmcintyre10@alamo.edu
CAC303E 

Catherine Miller, Ph.D. 
mmiller157@alamo.edu
CAC 303A 

E. Carmen Morley, M.A.
emorley@alamo.edu
CAC 303H 

Thomas Rickert, M.A.
trickert@alamo.edu
CAC 303A 

Italo Samano, M.A.
isamano@alamo.edu
CAC 303F

John Sarles, Ph.D.
jsarles@alamo.edu
CAC 303 

Denise Scott, M.A.
dscott92@alamo.edu
CAC 303A

Karen Sebesta, M.A.
ksebesta@alamo.edu
CAC 303 

Gene Sloan, M.A. 
esloan1@alamo.edu
CAC 303j