Computer Support Specialist

Program Type: Face-to-Face, Fully Online
Program Level: Degrees, Online, Certificates
Department: Science and Technology
Institute: Science & Technology
College: SAC

What is the Computer Support Specialist program?

This degree helps the student prepare for a career as a computer support specialist.  Computer support specialists help with log-in difficulties, operating system and software malfunctions, network technologies, and even hardware issues.

What will I learn?

All computer support positions require strong analytical thinking and problem-solving abilities, as well as customer support and service capabilities. Students will learn a variety of computer-based support skills.   

 

What can I do with this course of study?

Technical support specialists may go on to supervisory positions in which they oversee the work of support staff and handle more complicated problems. With additional training or education, a support specialist may pursue a career as a quality assurance engineer who tests computer programs for problems, or designs software to perform such tests.

 What's special about the program?

When you reach for the phone or keyboard to seek assistance and a little peace of mind, the person who answers on the other end is typically a computer support specialist.

 

 

 

If you need further assistance or have questions, please contact our Enrollment Team via:

Last Updated: 5/28/2021

 

Contact Us

Troy Touchette
Department Chair 
ttouchette@alamo.edu
Location:
Nail Technical Center (NTC-229)
Phone:
210-486-1050
Kim Muschalek
Program Coordinator 
kmuschalek@alamo.edu
Location:
Nail Technical Center (NTC-219)
Phone:
210-486-1059
Laura A. Garcia
Administrative Services Specialist
lgarcia2@alamo.edu
Location:
Nail Technical Center (NTC-229)
Phone:
210-486-1051
     

David Acosta
Faculty
dacosta4@alamo.edu

Rafael Azuaje
Faculty
razuaje@alamo.edu
Andrea Cardena
Faculty
acardena1@alamo.edu

Terill Freese
Faculty
tfreese@alamo.edu

 

Pete Ortega
Faculty
portega@alamo.edu
Sharon Jiang
Faculty
sjiang@alamo.edu
Dee Joseph
Faculty
djoseph@alamo.edu
Steve Kolars
Faculty
skolars@alamo.edu
Mike Matuszek
Faculty
mmatuszek@alamo.edu