Faculty and Staff

The Honors Academy Program is looking for faculty who are willing to

  • attend a beginning-of-the-semester meeting
  • submit a syllabus
  • use student-centered teaching methods
  • review end-of-semester student course evaluations, eLumen reports, and SAC Scores reports for continuous improvement
  • provide intellectual leadership, advising, and mentoring for students
  • innovate with inclusive curriculum, approaches, and pedagogies
  • attend monthly Honors faculty/staff meetings (optional for adjuncts)
  • serve on one Honors committee (optional for adjuncts)
  • hold office hours in the Honors Center (optional for adjuncts)
  • attend a mid-semester check-in
  • participate in extra-curricular Program events (optional for adjuncts)
  • participate in a classroom observation and post-observation with Director
  • recommended innovation through OER, software, Diversity Equity Inclusion (DEI) pedagogy, HIPs, and experiential learning, and the like
  • recommended exploration and implementation of emerging trends in higher education, inclusive pedagogy, and equity in pedagogy 
  • demonstrate commitment to professional growth

    Faculty teaching in the Honors Academy receive an invitation to the Canvas Honors Faculty informational course. 

FACULTY

Alaniz, Alfred, M.S.
Professor of Physics and Astronomy
Phone: (210) 486-0060
Email: aalaniz@alamo.edu
Office: CG 101

Apple, Deana, M.S.
Instructor of Biology
Phone: (210) 486-0844
Email: dapple3@alamo.edu
Office: CAC 365

Arteaga-Gamboa, Omega, M.A.
Instructor of Sociology
Phone: (210) 486-1323
Email: oarteaga@alamo.edu
Office: CAC 136H

Bunch, Jeanette, M.S.
Instructor of Student Development
Phone: (210) 486-0350
Email: jniznik@alamo.edu
Office: CAC 326
Bueno, Marianne, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of History
Phone: (210) 486-1341
Email: mbueno41@alamo.edu
Office: CAC 314

Chavera, David, M.S.
Professor of Mathematics
Phone: (210) 486-0281
Email: dchavera@alamo.edu
Office: MCCH 312

Davis, Caroline, M.A.
Instructor of English 
Phone: (210) 486-0670
Email: crichardson36@alamo.edu 
Office: GH 224B
Hunt, Jeff, M.A.
Professor of Speech
Phone: (210) 486-0487
Email: jhunt1@alamo.edu
Office: MCFA 221
Khan, Suraya, Ph.D. 
Instructor of History
Phone: (210) 486-1709
Email: skhan29@alamo.edu 
Office: CAC 312
Linda Kotzur, M.A. 
Instructor of Music
Phone: (210) 486-0494
Email: lkotzur8@alamo.edu
Office: MCFA 105A
Lucchelli, Jim, Ph.D.
Professor of Student Development,
Faculty Sponsor Phi Theta Kappa
Phone: (210) 486-0152
Email: glucchellijr@alamo.edu
Office: MLC 621
Morgan, Kerri M., M.A.
Instructor of Music
Phone: (210) 486-0255
Email: kmorgan31@alamo.edu
Office: McFA 101
Motley, Jeremy Lynn, M.S.
Instructor of Chemistry
Phone: (210) 486-0057
Email: jmotley3@alamo.edu
Office: CG 107
Portales, Patricia, Ph. D.
Professor of English
Phone: (210) 486-0681
Email: pportales@alamo.edu
Office: GH 204
Ramsey, Jolinda, M.A.
Assistant Profeessor of Speech
Phone: (210) 486-0496
Emai: jramsey@alamo.edu
Office: MCFA 209
Ramos, Lisa, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of History,
Coordinator of MAS Program,
Co-Coordinator of History Program
Phone: (210) 486-0761
Email: lramos175@alamo.edu
Office: CAC 100
Luis Rangel-Ortiz, M.A.
Instructor of Humanities
Email: lrangel-ortiz@alamo.edu
Phone: (210) 486-1429
Office: GH 123
Serafine, Amelia, Ph.D.
Instructor of History
Email:aserafine2@alamo.edu
Phone: (210) 486-1711
Office: CAC 312
Slonaker, Terri, M.A.
Assistant Professor of Sociology
Phone: (210) 486-1333
Email: tslonaker@alamo.edu
Office: CAC 136E
Wallis, Dehlia, M.S.
Professor of Psychology         
Phone: (210) 486-0776
Email: dstrong2@alamo.edu
Office: MLC 614
Whitworth, Amy, Ph.D.
Professor of Philosophy
Phone: (210) 486-0248
Email: awhitworth@alamo.edu
Office: OC 228

STAFF

Ramirez, Norma L.
Certified Academic Advisor
Phone: (210) 486-1428
Email: nramirez28@alamo.edu
Office: CAC 122B
Harrison, Deborah
Administrative Assistant
Phone: (210) 486-0401
Email: dharrison17@alamo.edu
Office: OC 322
 
The Honors Academy Program is looking for full-time faculty teaching courses within the Core.  If you are interested in joining our team, please contact your Department Chair about the application process. 

The application process serves as a way to identify, recruit, and develop faculty to teach special population courses based on established criteria, as well as an equitable opportunity for all faculty to teach special population courses. By completing an application, you acknowledge an understanding that there is no additional compensation to teach with this special population, agree to teach on a rotating basis, align your course to the mission and goals of the special population program, and fulfill the program duties and responsibilities if accepted. Department Chairs will notify all applicants of decisions no later than the week before schedule building is complete.